Menu
Search
California Building Standards Code Adoption Process

Rulemaking 

The California Building Standards Commission (CBSC) receives proposed changes to California's building codes from state agencies. The following laws and regulations establish document and submittal requirements, and serve as the basis for a proposed standard's adoption and/or approval by CBSC:

Building standards adoption consists of the following parts:

  • Code Adoption Cycle - How HCD, DSA, OSHPD, CDPH, or OSFM propose changes to building standards.
  • Model Code Adoption - Every three years (during its triennial cycle), CBSC reviews the newest model codes published by various independent code-developing bodies.
  • Regular Rulemaking - How other state agencies propose changes to building standards.
  • Emergency Rulemaking - How any state agency proposes emergency changes to building standards.
  • Approving, Returning, or Rejecting Proposed Standards - How CBSC determines whether to approve, reject, or return a proposed building standard.
  • Filing a Petition - How interested persons may petition a state agency to request the adoption, amendment or repeal of a regulation.
  • Filing an Appeal - How persons adversely affected by any regulation, rules, omission, interpretation, decision or practice of any state agency respecting the administration of any building standard may appeal the issue for resolution to CBSC.

CBSC also provides checklists, forms and templates to assist state agencies who want to propose changes to building standards or regulations.

Effective Dates

State agencies may propose changes to building standards or regulations related to the implementation or enforcement of building standards. Building standards law requires the state proposing or adopting agency to submit building standards to CBSC for approval.

The type of standard or regulation approved determines its effective date (see table below). 

Type of building standard or regulation

Effective date

Building standards adopted by any agency

180 days after its publication in Title 24, or at a later date established by CBSC

Emergency building standard or regulation

Immediately upon its filing with the Office of the Secretary of State, or at a later date established by CBSC

Building standards adopted pursuant to Section 25402 of the Public Resources Code, or regulation relating to the implementation or enforcement of building standards

30 days after its filing with the Office of the Secretary of State

Change without regulatory effect (see California Code of Regulations, Title 1, Section 100)

Immediately upon its filing with the Office of the Secretary of State, or at a later date established by CBSC